31
Jan
16

Run the race

Yesterday I attended the memorial service for Stephen Kruse.  I met his wife Christi about 7-8 years ago when I was taking exercise classes at JFBC.  We chatted and laughed our way through Susan’s bootcamp classes for a few years and then moved over to workout at WPF.   And there I was yesterday, back at JFBC to celebrate the too-short life of her husband, Stephen.  Stephen was diagnosed with melanoma and fought courageously for 3 years.  I never met Stephen but yesterday the room was full of stories, laughter, and tears.   Also a lot of ‘War Eagle’!  I was glad to hear that Stephen was never in pain, that he was constantly surrounded by loved ones,  and that he was at peace with his cancer diagnosis.

The minister spoke about what Stephen would tell us if he could still talk to us.   He said he thinks Stephen would tell everyone that our time on Earth is so fleeting and that we should RUN to what comes next.  He used the word ‘run’ and talked about ‘running the race’.  I sat there, thinking about his words.   Now, although I have different religious beliefs, this message really spoke to me.  And I haven’t stopped thinking about it.

Life is short and tomorrow is not a guarantee.  Yes it’s cliché, but it’s true.  No one wakes up and says ‘today is the day I get cancer’.  No one thinks they are going to lose a loved one way too soon.  We all think it isn’t going to happen to us. To our parent. To our child. To our friend.  But then it does.  And we think about how we didn’t say the right things or hug enough or laugh enough.  We think about how we are living our own lives.  We might have regrets about how we are RUNNING THE RACE.

So, it’s all our of our control, right? There’s nothing we can do. We can’t change the course of what is going to happen. That’s someone else’s job.  How are we supposed to change it? How can we make a difference? How can we do our best to RUN THE RACE?

I am RUNNING THE RACE.  I have made a choice.   I am trying to make a difference. Set an example.  I want to have an impact.  One mile at a time, one dollar at a time.  I want to inspire others.  It’s great when someone says ‘I’m so proud of you.’ or ‘You are amazing’.  But what I really love is when I see someone inspired to make a change. To change the way they are RUNNING THE RACE.   It doesn’t have to be raising money.  It can be something as simple as bringing a meal to a family going through a difficult time.  Or picking up the phone to call someone to find out how they are doing.  The minister spoke about how many people called Stephen or stopped by to see him.  Sometimes the smallest gestures make the biggest impact.  We can all do these things. We can all make the most of our time and create change.  We all have the ability to make an impact but we have to make the choice.

Now, I am also LITERALLY RUNNING THE RACE when I go back to Boston in April. And I RUN THE RACE every time I lace up my sneakers and hit the road.  There are no easy miles.  I am lucky for every step I take.  And especially on the days that I don’t want to run, I remind myself WHY. And WHO.  I run because I can.  I RUN THE RACE for those who cannot.    I have worn Stephen’s name on my DFMC singlet the last 2 years and his name will once again grace my back on April 18th.  I hate moving another name from ‘in honor of’ to ‘in memory of’ but I will do my best to make him and his family proud that day.

I know I have touched on this topic before but it really hit home yesterday. Every time the minister said the word ‘run’.   And I know Christi says she doesn’t believe in coincidence.  So I won’t either.

 

www.rundfmc.org/2016/carrig

 

 


1 Response to “Run the race”


  1. 1 Jamie Evans
    February 1, 2016 at 10:54 am

    HI Carrie-
    I am always inspired by your posts and what you are doing, but I found this one especially poignant. I was diagnosed last week with (very treatable) breast cancer. I never expected to get that call nor did I think “it could happen to me.” I appreciate more than ever what you are doing and know you are making a difference. Like you said, life IS short but I certainly plan to fight the fight and am completely confident that I will be a stronger and better person after this experience. THANK YOU for your amazing attitude and tremendous efforts. You are truly an inspiration.
    Jamie


Leave a comment


Run Mom Run Happy

My thoughts on being a mom, runner, wannabe health nut, and everything else.